Skip to main content

Fort St. John students earn more than $49,000 in awards and bursaries

On , In College News
Neil LinkFORT ST. JOHN – More than $49,000 in awards, scholarships and bursaries were presented to Northern Lights College students on April 7.

The awards were presented to students enrolled at NLC’s Fort St. John Campus during the annual awards ceremony held in the cafeteria. More than 60 students received awards for 20010-11.

Many of the awards are memorial awards, while other awards are sponsored by community groups, businesses, and individuals. The awards are administered by the NLC Foundation.

For more information on the NLC Foundation, check the NLC website at or contact Donna Kane at 250-784-7613 or email

Vancouver Foundation Award WinnersAward recipients were:

· Becky Bruvold (BC Hydro Scholarship, Petro Canada Scholarship in Land and Resource Management, Pembina Pipeline Corporation Land and Resource Management, Real Estate Foundation of BC Award, Talisman Land and Resource Management Award)
· Jay Van Noortwyk (Dave Johnson Memorial Award, Real Estate Foundation of BC Award, Teck Cominco Award)
· Cassie Mulvahill (Dave Johnson Memorial Endowment, Morris Bahm Memorial Award Outdoor Studies, Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)
· Jason Muckle (ABE Association of BC, Talisman Career and College Preparation Award Aboriginal)
· Scott Derrien (CAPP Scholarship, Talisman Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)
· Laurie McCallum (Heritage North Consulting Ltd./Jimmy Fields Memorial Award, Zedi Aboriginal Award)
· Charity Blaney (Canadian Forest Products Award, Fredden Ouden Memorial Award)
· Sophia Fang (CGA Academic Excellence Scholarship, VancouverFoundation Award)
· Graham Utz (CGA Continuing Education Scholarship, Dave Johnson Academic Studies Award)
· Douglas Chukwu (David Bradley Science Award, Milton John Best Memorial Award)
· Neil Link (Suncor Energy Foundation Award Aboriginal, Talisman Oil and Gas Field Operations Award Aboriginal)
· Anna Wheat (David Crowle Memorial Award, Roy Cunningham Memorial Award Aboriginal)
· Brent Miller (Devon Canada Corporation/Dave Johnson Memorial Scholarship)
· Lisa Hotte (Devon Canada Corporation Aboriginal Award)
· Kristen Utz (Fort St. John Community Arts Council Art Award)
· Michael Van Nostrand (Fort St. John Community Arts Council Creative Writing)
· Jennifer Allen (Fort St. John Elks Lodge)
· Cassidy Brown (Alaska Highway News Award)
· Mary Catto (Fort St. John Elks Lodge)
· Cory Heber (Fort St. John LAND Transport Award)
· Jason Kouwenhoven (Fort St. John Lions Club Award)
· Brett McLean (Fort St. John NLC Staff Award)
· Carla Stromgen (Fort St. John Student Council Award)
· Craig Arnold (Harley Lindlay Memorial)
· Kenneth Armstrong (Credit Union Foundation of BC/Lucille Sutherland Award)
· Craig Fossum (CAPP Scholarship)
· Branden Thiessen (Northern BC Truckers Award Commercial Transport Technician)
· Jonathan Wenger (NLC Business Management Award)
· Amanda Jacklin (Swanberg Brothers Trucking Ltd Applied Business Technology Award)
· Timbre Eby (Swanberg Brothers Trucking Ltd. Commercial Transport)
· Brittany Zarichney (Zedi Student Support Award)
· Devin Magee (BC Hydro Environment Award)
· Alwin Melling (BP Canada Energy Industrial Instrument Mechanics)
· Derek Meury (BP Canada Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)
· Helen Knott (Conoco Phillips Canada Award Aboriginal)
· Sabrina Conway (Early Childhood Education Memorial Book Award)
· Noreen Smith (Finning Canada)
· Jaime Kelm (Jack and Clarice Baker Award)
· Daniel Gilmore (Johnny Tashoots Memorial Award)
· Andy Devuyst (NLC 25/35 Anniversary Achievement Award)
· Nicole Arsenault (Northern Institute for Resource Studies Award)
· Jennifer Jarabek (Peace River District Women’s Institute Award)
· Robert Belcourt (Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)
· Erik Sage (Suncor Energy Foundation Award)
· Romaldi Camarillo (Talisman Power Engineering and Gas Processing Award)
· Shawna Badine (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Rebekah Bell (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Erich Betcher (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Darlee Byron (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Crystal Courtoreille (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Cassandra Fowler (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Amanda Jacklin (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Ebony Kaweesi (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Todd Stedel (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Courtney Wilkins (Vancouver Foundation Award)
· Christopher Anibueze (Zedi Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)
· Travis Mytopher (Zedi Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)