Skip to main content

Graduates honoured at Fort Nelson Campus Convocation

On , In College News

FORT NELSON – Graduating students at the Fort Nelson Campus of Northern Lights College were honoured through the conferral of certificates at the annual Convocation ceremony held on June 17 at the Phoenix Theatre.

Tara Credgeur, an Applied Business Technology student, was the Valedictorian, while the keynote speaker was Angela White, Surface Land Representative and Community Liaison for Encana Corporation in Fort Nelson.

A number of other dignitaries brought greetings to the graduates, including Kathi Dickie, Chief, Fort Nelson First Nation; Bill Streeper, Mayor, Northern Rockies Regional Municipality; Wendy Normandeau, NLC Board of Governors; and Laurie Rancourt, President, NLC.

As well, Gerri McDonald, NLC Aboriginal Coordinator, and Angus Dickie, Community Coordinator for Spectra performed an Honouring Song for the students.

In addition to the presentation of credentials to the graduating students, a number of students at the Fort Nelson Campus were recognized with awards, bursaries and scholarships. The value of awards presented to students at the Fort Nelson Campus during 2010-11 totaled more than $9,800.

The awards were presented to 18 students. Recipients were:

  • Germaine Hardy (Eh-Cho-Dene Award; Roy Cunningham Memorial Award, Aboriginal; Fort Nelson First Nation Award; Devon Canada Corporation Award, Aboriginal; Commitment to Education Award)
  • Chris Legge (Nikki MacDonald Memorial Award; G&O Bumper-to-Bumper Award; Strad Energy Services Award; James Keeler Memorial Award)
  • Meagan Hiebert (Northern Institute for Research Studies Award; Credit Union Foundation of BC Award)
  • Cecelia Sheppard (NLC Student Association and Student Council Award; M. Keith Lutsiak Business Management Award)
  • Tammy Matou (Fort Nelson Aboriginal Coordinator Special Student Award; Alma Van Dusen Award)
  • Brittany Law (NLC Student Association and Student Council Award; BC Hydro Award)
  • Stacey Loewen (M. Keith Lutsiak Business Management Award; Academic Excellence Award)
  • Tara Credgeur (Paul Dampier Community Commitment Award)
  • Arlene Simms (Northern Rockies Regional Municipality Award)
  • Brandy Patenaude (Adult Basic Education Association of British Columbia Award)
  • Guy Brenton (Fort Nelson Rotary Award)
  • Chelsea Abraham (Dominion Energy Canada Ltd. Award)
  • Morgan Unruh (Western Financial Group)
  • Gary Reno (James Keeler Memorial Award)
  • Cindy Southwick (Fort Nelson Campus Staff and Alumni Award)
  • Sonya Dennis (Alma Van Dusen Award)
  • Heather Harper (Alma Van Dusen Award)
  • Jamie Emmelkamp (Alma Van Dusen Award)

The College holds three Convocation ceremonies each year. The Dawson Creek ceremony was held May 13, and the Fort St. John ceremony was held June 10.