Skip to main content

Northern Lights College awards over $80,000 to students

On , In College News

The College’s Fort St. John Campus awards were presented to students during the annual awards ceremony held May 21 in the cafeteria. Fifty-nine students received awards for 2014-15.

The Chetwynd Campus also held its annual NLC Student Appreciation Tea on May 27 and presented student awards.

NLC student awards are administered by the NLC Foundation.

For more information on the NLC Foundation, check the NLC website at or contact Donna Kane at 250-784-7613 or email

Award recipients on the Fort St. John Campus were:

  • ABE ABC Award – Giorgi Daraseli
  • Alaska Highway News Award – Tim Atchinson
  • BC Hydro Award – Kimberly Lavigne
  • BC Rail Scholarship Award – Angus Campbell
  • Blake and Tyler Peck Memorial Award – Tara Maloney
  • BP Canada Energy Industrial Instrument Mechanic Trades Training Award – Hugh Delorey
  • BP Canada Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award – Andrew Gilmore
  • Canbriam Energy Health Care Assistant and Social Services Worker Diploma Award – Lisa Jewell
  • Canbriam Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award – Ambie Glibbery
  • Canbriam Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award (Aboriginal) – Brent Kotchea
  • Canbriam Trades Award – Patricia Cox
  • Canbriam Energy University Arts and Sciences Award – Volodymyr Ruban
  • Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers Scholarships – Eric DeVries, and Safety Abraham
  • CanWest Global Communications Bursary – Raquel Bouwmeester
  • CanWest Global Communications Scholarship – Raquel Bouwmeester
  • CGA Academic Excellence Scholarship (External) – Sergii Semenukha
  • CGA Continuing Education Tuition Scholarship (External) – Laura Crossland
  • Credit Union Foundation of BC Lucille Sutherland Award – Darlene Thomas
  • Dave Johnson Academic Studies Award – Jonathon Zimmer
  • Dave Johnson Memorial Award – Volodymyr Ruban
  • Dave Johnson Memorial Award Endowment – Kristiana Bailey
  • David Bradley Science Award – Drake McCullough
  • David Crowle Award – Ashton Julian
  • Duncan MacRae Endowment Fund Award – Safety Abraham
  • Fort St. John Elks Lodge #288 Awards – April Davis and Volodymyr Ruban
  • Fort St. John Staff Award – Eliza Krauss
  • Fred den Ouden Memorial Award – April Davis
  • Fort St. John Community Arts Council Art Award – Chantel Maloney
  • Fort St. John Community Arts Council Creative Writing Award – Ezra Lainsbury
  • Harley Lindley Memorial Award – Zachary Ward
  • Heritage North Consulting Ltd./ Jimmy Fields Memorial Award – April Davis
  • Jack and Clarice Baker Memorial Award – Angus Campbell
  • Lois Roberts Memorial Award – Harmanpreet Grewal
  • Milton John Best Memorial Award – Tyler McDonald
  • Morris Bahm Memorial Award – Outdoor Studies – Chantel Maloney
  • Morris Bahm Memorial Literacy Award – Darlene Thomas
  • NLC 25/35 Anniversary Achievement Award – Volodymyr Ruban
  • NLC Business Management Award – Sergii Semenukha
  • NLC Student Association and Council Award – Volodymyr Ruban
  • NLC Student Association and Council Award – Darlene Thomas
  • Northern BC Truckers’ Association – Fort St. John Award (Commercial Transport Technician) – Martin Kus
  • Northern Institute for Resource Studies Awards – Hailey Dommasch
  • North Peace Savings and Credit Union Business Management Award – Eliza Krauss
  • Northern Metalic Tool Award – Rachael Wilkinson
  • Oil and Gas Commission Award – Drake McCullough
  • Pembina Pipeline Corporation Electrician Trades Training Scholarship – Patricia Cox
  • Peace River District Women’s Institute Award – Lisa Jewell
  • Petro Canada Scholarship – Peter Clease
  • Real Estate Foundation of BC Awards – Kristiana Bailey, Raquel Bouwmeester
  • Ruth Woolley (Harris) Memorial Award – Debora Balfour
  • Suncor Energy Foundation Awards – Eric DeVries, and Safety Abraham
  • Swanberg Bros. Trucking Ltd. Applied Business Technology Award- Brittney Helen Lyons
  • Swanberg Bros. Trucking Ltd. Commercial Transport Award – Angus Campbell
  • Westcoast Energy Achievement Award – Fabien Hebert
  • William and Mary Wanka History Prize – Tyler McDonald
  • Zedi Aboriginal Award – Kristiana Bailey
  • Zedi Industrial Instrumentation Award – Kaden Bouchard
  • Zedi Oil and Gas Field Operations Awards – Ambie Glibbery and Andrew Gilmore
  • Zedi Student Support Award – Fabien Hebert

Award recipients on the Chetwynd Campus were:

  • Alma Van Dusen Award – Mary-Lou John and Purl Noskiye
  • Belyea Scholarship – Alex Demontigny
  • Billy Fox Memorial Award – Mary-Lou John
  • Chetwynd Lions Club Award – Theresa Laberge
  • Duncan MacCrae Endowment Fund – Bernadine Gauthier
  • Ed Clausen Memorial Award – Theresa Laberge
  • Hudson’s Hope Scholarship Award – Theresa Laberge
  • Lord Strathcona, George T. and Myrtle Cunningham and Ingeldow Bursary Fund – Theresa Laberge
  • NLC Chetwynd Staff Award – Theresa Laberge
  • Northern Institute for Resource Studies Award – Michelle Sorell
  • Roy Cunningham Memorial Adult Basic Education Award – Theresa Laberge and Bernadine Gauthier