Skip to main content

Student achievements celebrated in Dawson Creek Campus Awards Ceremony

On , In College News

The awards were presented to students enrolled at NLC’s Dawson Creek and South Peace Campuses, and led by registrar and master of ceremonies Warren Stokes.

Greetings were delivered by NLC president and CEO Dr. Bryn Kulmatycki and councillor Cheryl Shuman from the City of Dawson Creek.

Many of the awards are memorial awards, while other awards are sponsored by community groups, businesses, and individuals. The awards are administered by the NLC Foundation.

The Lord Strathcona Fund AwardDawson Creek Lions Club Award Martha Neilson Award DC Coop CCP Award

For more information on the NLC Foundation, check the NLC website at or contact Donna Kane at 250-784-7613 or email

Award recipients were:

  • Alaska Highway News Award (Dawson Creek Campus) – Kysa Johnson
  • Alma VanDusen Awards – Ashley Vig, Ashley Wallington, Francis Kezer, Haley Braaten, Juritha Owens, Natalia El Namer, Susanne Belkin
  • Altagas Wind Turbine Maintenance Technician Bursary – Cole Bennett, Marie LeDuc, Tammy Brown
  • Canadian Forest Products Award – Kolten Berthold
  • Conoco Phillips Canada Ltd. Award (Aboriginal) – Melanie Tom
  • Cook Training Bursary – Barbara Croswell
  • Credit Union Foundation of BC – Lucille Sutherland Award – Ashley Vig
  • Daryl Becotte Memorial Award – Ashley Wallington
  • Dawson Co-op Career and College Preparation Award – Roy Whitford
  • Dawson Creek Campus Staff Awards – Mathew Abraham, Thi Quynh Quynh Vu
  • Dawson Creek Lions Club Award (Fred Flavelle Memorial) – Cora-Lee Paish
  • Dawson Creek Lions Club Award (Rod Roberts Memorial) – Chelsea Andrew
  • Dawson Creek Society for Community Living Award – Amanda Roberts
  • Dawson Creek Society for Community Living Practicum Award – Janine Gatzke
  • Dominion Energy Canada Ltd. Award – James Jones
  • Duane Sunderman Memorial Award – Sean Luck
  • Duncan MacRae Endowment Fund – Juliet Offor
  • Eileen McKone Memorial Award – Karly Rae Keeping
  • Erich W. Lehmann Memorial Award – Ethan Anderson
  • Finning Canada Award – James Jones
  • Gus Keilbart Memorial Award – Ashley Wallington
  • Harry Moran Memorial Scholarship – Mathew Abraham
  • Howard and Dorothy Calverley Memorial Award – Mathew Abraham
  • Jamie Lukan Memorial Award – Laine Sheldon-Houle
  • Jim Kassen Legacy Fund – Annette Tough
  • John Robert Belyea and Joan Elsie Belyea Fund – Brayden Walter
  • Kin Club of Dawson Creek Award – Brayden Walter
  • Kora-Lee Morin Memorial Award – Susanne Belkin
  • Larry Pollard Memorial Award – Lauryn Davis
  • Laurie Markling Nursing Award – Karly Rae Keeping
  • Lois Roberts Memorial Award – Juritha Owens
  • Martha Neilson Award – Juliet Offor
  • Mile Zero Shrine Club Award – Natalia El Namer
  • Morris Bahm Memorial Award – AME – James Jones
  • NCLGA Award – Tianna Greyeyes
  • NHA FoodSafe Council Award – Nicholas Disher
  • NLC Esthetics and Nail Care Technology Award – Samantha Holthe
  • NLC Student Association and Council Award – James Jones
  • Northern BC Truckers Association DC Award – Keith Harris
  • Northern Institute for Resource Studies Awards – Thi Quynh Quynh Vu
  • Pacific Northern Gas (NE) Award – Susanne Belkin
  • Paul Dampier Student Leadership Award – James Jones
  • Peace Masonic Lodge Award – Brayden Rouble
  • Peace River District Women’s Institute Award – Thi Quynh Quynh Vu
  • Pembina Pipeline Corporation Welding Scholarship – Colleen Seaward
  • Rotary Club of Dawson Creek Award – Lauryn Davis
  • South Peace Community Resources Award – Annette Tough
  • The Lord Strathcona Fund Award – Melanie Tom
  • William and Mary Wanka University Arts and Sciences Award – Natalia El Namer
  • Zedi Aboriginal Award – Lauren Pradolini